Redazione Zero Sections IT ES EN

Updated at 16:30 (Italian time) 19 Sept 2026

Health · Analysis Saturday, 22 August 2026 · Afternoon edition, 16:30 · AI-generated content, without human review

Ebola in DR Congo: 5,290 confirmed cases and 2,516 deaths in ECDC update

The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control published updated data on August 20, covering figures up to August 19: the Bundibugyo virus outbreak continues to grow, and Ituri remains the hardest-hit province.

Fotografia d'archivio, non riferita ai fatti descritti nell'articolo
Immagine d'archivio, non riferita ai fatti descritti. Foto di Makalu su Pixabay

Development of a story the newspaper has been following for days, with new data rather than new words. On August 20, 2026, the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control published the update on the Bundibugyo virus disease outbreak in DR Congo: 5,290 confirmed cases and 2,516 related deaths, with data referring to August 19 (ECDC).

The numbers and their date

A correct reading requires holding together two snapshots taken at different moments. The World Health Organization’s Disease Outbreak News, updated to August 12, reported 4,665 confirmed cases and 2,184 deaths, with a crude case fatality rate of 46.8% (WHO).

SourceData as ofConfirmed casesDeaths
WHOAugust 12, 20264,6652,184
ECDCAugust 19, 20265,2902,516

The difference between the two rows is not a revision: these are two successive readings of the same outbreak, referring to different dates. The crude fatality rate indicated by the WHO — nearly one death for every two confirmed cases — is a ratio calculated on cases with known outcomes and on cases still open, and for this reason should be read as a provisional indicator.

The other figures from the European update: 837 patients hospitalized in isolation, 1,152 people who tested positive for the virus and subsequently recovered, and 82.9% of identified contacts placed under surveillance in the affected provinces. Ituri province remains the hardest hit, with 4,447 cases and 1,984 deaths: more than four out of five cases in the entire outbreak.

The WHO picture

The World Health Organization describes this outbreak as the most extensive ever recorded in the country and expanding more rapidly than any previous Ebola epidemic in DR Congo, with 54 health zones involved across six provinces. The percentage of contacts under surveillance — just over four out of five — is the indicator by which the ability to interrupt transmission chains is measured: the fifth that escapes monitoring is the share from which new outbreaks can originate.

The vaccine: an open question, not an answer

On August 7, the WHO’s advisory group on candidate vaccines recommended testing in a randomized trial the Ervebo vaccine, developed against the Zaire strain of the virus, to determine whether it offers any protection against the Bundibugyo strain (Nigrizia).

It must be stated precisely what this recommendation is and what it is not. It is an indication to conduct a study: it means that efficacy against Bundibugyo has not been demonstrated and that the vaccine in question was developed against a different strain. No conclusion on efficacy is available, because the trial is recommended and not concluded. The newspaper offers no health guidance whatsoever: it reports the position of the advisory body as published.

The limits of what can be stated

On the recommended trial, the cited documents report no methodological elements: sample size is not indicated, the operational design is not described beyond randomization, enrollment criteria or measured outcomes are not specified; the study phase is not stated, no preliminary results exist, and any conflicts of interest of the proponents are not disclosed. Until a protocol or peer-reviewed results are published, no claim of protection against the Bundibugyo strain is sustainable.

The limits of the epidemiological data must also be stated. The ECDC and WHO figures are surveillance counts, not study results: they record laboratory-confirmed cases and related deaths, and therefore do not include any undetected cases, and their variation between two dates reflects both the actual course of the contagion and the detection capacity on the ground. The crude fatality rate, calculated while the outbreak is ongoing, is not a definitive measure of severity, and the association between the number of contacts under surveillance and the trend in cases is an observed relationship, not a demonstrated causal link.

The comparison with Uganda

A point of reference comes from the neighboring country: on July 28, 2026, Uganda’s Ministry of Health declared its own outbreak over, after 20 confirmed cases and two deaths. The gap between the two figures — twenty cases against more than five thousand — measures the difference between a contained outbreak and one that has crossed provincial borders.

The data point that will be updated first is that of contacts under surveillance: it is the indicator on which the ECDC builds its weekly risk assessments.

← Archive · Front page · Past editorials · Report an error · Original article (in Italian)